Sigma Delta Pi

Sigma Delta Pi’s History

Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society (La Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica), was established on November 14, 1919, at the University of California in Berkeley. Its insignia is the royal seal of Fernando and Isabel, representing Castille, León and Aragón. The Society’s colors are red and gold and its flower is the red carnation.

With the guidance of such notable Hispanists as S. Griswold Morley, Elijah C. Hills, Rudolph Schevill, Leavitt O. Wright, William Berrien, John D. Fitz-Gerald, Tomás Navarro Tomás, José Martel, Archer M. Huntington, John T. Reid, Stuart M. Gross, James O. Swain, F. Dewey Amner, Carl A. Tyre, T. Earle Hamilton, Dolores Brown, Richard E. Chandler, Ignacio R.M. Galbis, John H. LaPrade, Mark P. Del Mastro and Germán D. Carrillo, the Society has expanded its activities and now has over 555 chapters. Almost all state universities have chapters, and the few that do not are now considering the founding of one.

The following reveal the diverse nature of the colleges and universities that form the Sigma Delta Pi family: the Catholic University of America, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Southern Methodist University, Johns Hopkins University, the University of Hawaii, Oral Roberts University, Georgian Court University, Stanford University, Texas Christian University, Hood College, Brigham Young University, College of William and Mary, Howard University, Friends University, Georgia Southern University, Marquette University, Baylor University, Auburn University and The Citadel.

In order to serve its many chapters most efficiently, the Society has a National President, an Executive Secretary-Treasurer, and five Regional Vice Presidents. All but the Executive Secretary-Treasurer are nominated and elected by the active chapter members. The Society is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the seven aforementioned officials, the Immediate Past President, the Presidents Emeriti and one Executive Committee Member-at-Large. The sponsor of the chapter, preferably chosen by the student members, but sometimes appointed by the department head, is of the utmost importance, for his/her wisdom, imagination and dedication largely determine the success of the local branch of the Society.

To view Sigma Delta Pi: A Brief History (1919-1994) by T. Earle Hamilton, click here. (may take a moment to load)

To view Sigma Delta Pi: A Brief History, Recounting a Decade (1995-2004) by John H. LaPrade and Mark P. Del Mastro, click here. (may take a moment  to load)

To view a list of Sigma Delta Pi’s current and past presidents, click here.